Equitana Melbourne

The Way of The Horse

When horse and rider become one


The Way Of The Horse (TWOTH) was created in 2005 by EQUITANA Australia to demonstrate a kinder and more caring way to start a young horse and to showcase the impressive training skills of our home-grown horsemen and women.  

The competitors chosen for the Challenge each year are picked specifically because they represent the same kind and caring ethos. This year TWOTH is an all female competition.

This electrifying horsemanship contest will have you excited to come back each day to keep tabs on the progress of each trainer and their horse.  The end results will leave you in awe!


The Challenge


During the challenge, three of EQUITANA’s leading horse trainers demonstrate their highly personal and specialised methods of connecting with an unbroken horse.

After choosing their young, unstarted horse from a selection trucked directly from the paddock to the venue, the three trainers work simultaneously in separate round pens, giving the public a unique opportunity to compare starting methods and training styles. Contestants are judged by a respected panel of Equestrians, who award individual points for techniques used to determine the winner.


2022 competitors

Meet our Mitavite The Way of The Horse competitors.
see how they are getting ready for the challenge...

skye liikanen

steph lancefield

hayley hinton



Sign up to our e-news

Get the latest updates on all this and more

Equitana Melbourne

Sign up to our e-news

Get the latest updates on all this and more